ACADEMIC ADVISING TECHNOLOGY

Educating, promoting and stimulating all Undergraduate Education and Academic Advising activities through the use of the latest technology.

ABOUT US

The Office of Academic Advising Technology works closely with all departments within Undergraduate Education, as well as other departments on campus, in planning and implementing advising technological resources for advisors, staff, and their students. It is our goal to educate, promote, and stimulate all Undergraduate Education and Academic Advising activities through the use of technology tools.

The Office of Academic Advising Technology is divided in the following three teams:

Graduation Success Team

The Graduation Success Team maintains and develops technological tools to aid in student development and academic achievement at FIU, including the Graduation Success Initiative (GSI), in an effort to help students Explore, find the right major; Focus, stay on track; and Graduate, finish on time. The Graduation Success Team also continuously trains and supports FIU's undergraduate professional advisors in the use of the GSI systems.

Technology Services Team

The Technology Services Team serves to improve the quality and efficiency of work with the department of Undergraduate Education through technology by offering efficient solutions to existing processes and business practices. We strive to improve the overall effectiveness of our web-presence to students and the FIU community.

Marketing/Promotions Team

The Marketing/Promotions Team works together with Undergraduate Education, as well as other departments on campus, for the development, creation, promotion and support of all multimedia as it relates directly to the University's academic advising, progress, development, and retention efforts.

SERVICES

  1. Graduation Success Team
    • Panther Degree Audit (PDA)
      • PDA Exceptions
      • PDA Creations (Graduate & Undergraduate)
    • Major Maps
      • Major Map setup
    • MyMajorMatch
    • My_eAdvisor
      • My_eAdvisor Support
    • Functional testing for new GSI applications
    • Grad Cert
    • Reporting - Academic   Accountabillity

     

  2. Technology Services Team
    • Technical Support
    • Web Design
    • Mass Email Distribution
    • Reporting - Academic, Accountabillity & Google Analytics
    • Web Applications

     

  3. Marketing/Promotions Team

    The wide array of multimedia tools include, but are not limited to:

    • Photography
    • Video Production
    • Audio Production
    • Graphic Design
    • Social Media Content

TEAM MEMBERS

 

Hugo Jimenz

Hugo Jimenez, Director
Office of Academic Advising Technology
Hugo.Jimenez@fiu.edu

Melanie Gomez

Melanie Gomez
Administrative Coordinator
melanie.gomez1@fiu.edu

Walter Maldonado

Walter Maldonado
Assistant Director, Graduation Success
Walter.Maldonado@fiu.edu

Mario Patterson

Mario Patterson
Panther Degree Audit Business Analyst
Graduation Success Team
Mario.Patterson1@fiu.edu

Yvette Cordova

Yvette Cordova
Senior Graduation Success Specialist
Graduation Success Team
Yvette.Cordova1@fiu.edu

Marco Echeverri

Marco Echeverri
Graduation Success Specialist
Graduation Success Team
Marco.Echeverri@fiu.edu

Brittany Edwards

Brittany Edwards
Graduation Success Specialist
Graduation Success Team
brittany.coile@fiu.edu

Miriette Presendieu

Miriette Presendieu
Graduation Success Specialist
Graduation Success Team
mpresend@fiu.edu

Alfred Vizcarra

Alfred Vizcarra
Graduation Success Specialist
Graduation Success Team
Alfred.Vizcarra@fiu.edu

Ivana Rodriguez

Ivana Rodriguez
My_eAdvisor Business Analyst
Graduation Success Team
ivana.rodriguez@fiu.edu

Nicholas Cardell

Nicholas Cardell
IT and Web Developer
Technology Services Team
ncardell@fiu.edu

Carlos Cueto

Carlos Cueto
Student IT and Web Developer
Technology Services Team
cacueto@fiu.edu

Jay Sandhouse

Jay Sandhouse
Marketing/Promotions Manager
Marketing/Promotions Team
Jay.Sandhouse@fiu.edu

Gabrielle Arzola

Gabrielle Arzola
Marketing/Promotions Assistant
Marketing/Promotions Team
garzola@fiu.edu

CONTACT US

Feel free to contact us directly at 305-348-1200 or by email at advtech@fiu.edu.